Tampa Bay Lightning Defeat Dallas Stars to Capture 2020 Stanley Cup!

The oddest NHL season in history ended Monday with the Tampa Bay Lightning defeating the Dallas Stars, 2-0, to capture the Stanley Cup.

Brayden Point and Blake Coleman scored for the Lightning, who clinched the series in six games for the franchise’s second Stanley Cup and first since 2004.

Star defenseman Victor Hedman won the Conn Smythe trophy as playoff MVP. Hedman had 10 goals and 22 points in 25 games.

The Lightning were always heavy favorites to win it all, even after the season was halted in March due to coronavirus.

The NHL returned in August, and featured a play-in round before the postseason began in Edmonton and Toronto in a bubble-like atmosphere without any fans in attendance. The final round took place in Edmonton.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s