Baseball 2021 Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Barry Zito, Tim Hudson, Mark Buehrle, Aramis Ramirez and Torii Hunter will highlight 11 additions to the 2021 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot being sent to the members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Also new to the 2021 ballot are A.J. Burnett, Michael Cuddyer, Dan Haren, LaTroy Hawkins, Nick Swisher and Shane Victorino.

The entire list of candidates on the 2021 Hall of Fame ballot: Bobby Abreu, Barry Bonds, Buehrle, Burnett, Roger Clemens, Cuddyer, Haren, Hawkins, Todd Helton, Hudson, Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Andy Pettitte, Ramirez, Manny Ramirez, Scott Rolen, Curt Schilling, Gary Sheffield, Sammy Sosa, Swisher, Victorino, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner and Zito.

In order to be selected for Hall of Fame enshrinement, candidates must be named on 75 percent of ballots. The 2021 induction weekend is scheduled for July 23-26 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Our choice for 2021: Bobbt Abreu!

We don’t think any of the new nominees are locks to get in. We do think Bobby Abreu, who was a superb Angel, Astro, Dodger, Phillie, Yankee and Met deserves to be in the Hall of Fame.

The 2021 induction also will include the 2020 class since that ceremony was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Derek Jeter, Larry Walker, former players’ union director Marvin Miller and catcher Ted Simmons were named to the 2020 class.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s