Congratulations to Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs

For the second time in the last four seasons, the Kansas City Chiefs are Super Bowl champions. Coming back from 10 points down at halftime, the Chiefs scored touchdowns on each of their first three possessions in the second half to claim a 38-35 victory over the Philadelphia Eagles. 

In doing so, the Chiefs became the second team in NFL history to come back from a double-digit halftime deficit to win the Super Bowl. Kansas City quarterback Patrick Mahomes also became the first player since Kurt Warner in 1999 to win NFL MVP and lead his team to a victory in the Super Bowl.

Mahomes was simply spectacular in the second half, completing 13 of 15 passes for 93 yards and two scores while adding a crucial 26-yard scramble on what would eventually become the game-winning drive. The newly-crowned NFL MVP completed 21 of 27 passes for 182 yards and three touchdowns and rushed six times for 44 additional yards.

Each of Mahomes’ touchdown passes went to different receivers with tight end Travis Kelce grabbing an 18-yard score on the Chiefs’ first possession of the game. Wide receivers Kadarius Toney and Skyy Moore found the end zone in the second half with a first-half fumble return touchdown serving as Kansas City’s other entry into the end zone. 

For the Eagles, QB Jalen Hurts was nearly as marvelous as Mahomes throughout the game. He became just the second player in NFL history to rush for three or more touchdowns in the Super Bowl, and he added a fourth score through the air. On the evening, he completed 27 of 38 passes for 304 yards and a touchdown while taking 15 carries for 70 yards plus the three scores. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s