Recognition: Negro League Baseball Players Voted Into National Baseball Hall Of Fame

Bud Fowler, Buck O’Neil, and Minnie Minoso have been elected into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The famed Negro League baseball players joined three other candidates — Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, and Tony Oliva — to be chosen for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022.

The six players will officially be inducted in Cooperstown, New York, on July 24, 2022.

Fowler, O’Neil, and Miñoso were three of the seven Negro League and pre-Negro League players who were being considered for induction into the Hall of Fame.

This year marked the first time O’Neil, Miñoso, and Fowler were considered for the Hall of Fame due to new rules that recognized the Negro Leagues as a major league. Last December, about 3,400 players’ statistics were added to Major League Baseball’s record books after Major League Baseball announced that it was “correcting a longtime oversight in the game’s history.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s